John Mitchell flying log book. Two



John Mitchell flying log book. Two


John Mitchell’s wireless operator’s flying log book covering the period from 12 October 1941 to 9 August 1948. Detailing his flying training and operations flown as wireless operator. He was stationed at RAF Kinloss (19 OTU), RAF Forres (19 OTU), RAF Balnageith (19 OTU), RAF Langar (207 Squadron), RAF Spilsby (207 Squadron), RAF Winthorpe (1661 HCU), RAF North Luffenham (1653 HCU), RAF Abingdon (91 Group Communications Flight) and RAF Swinderby (21 Group Communications Flt). Aircraft flown in were Whitley, Lysander, Anson, Proctor and Monarch.Targets were Dusseldorf, Bochum, Freidrichshaven, Gelsenkirchen, La Spezia, Gladbach, Berlin, Leipzig, Tours, Bourg Leopald, Antwerp, St Valerie-en-Caux and Paris. He flew fifteen night operations with 207 Squadron. His pilots on operations were Flight Lieutenant Brandon-Trye, Pilot Officer King and Squadron Leader Pattinson.



One booklet

Conforms To


This content is available under a CC BY-NC 4.0 International license (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0). It has been published ‘as is’ and may contain inaccuracies or culturally inappropriate references that do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the University of Lincoln or the International Bomber Command Centre. For more information, visit and






Great Britain. Royal Air Force, “John Mitchell flying log book. Two ,” IBCC Digital Archive, accessed December 8, 2023,

Item Relations

This item has no relations.