George Alexander Mackie’s pilots flying log book. One



George Alexander Mackie’s pilots flying log book. One


Pilots flying log book one, for George Alexander Mackie, covering the period from 17 September 1940 to 30 September 1942. Detailing his flying training, operations flown and instructor duties. He was stationed at RAF Meir, RAF Cranfield, RAF Bassingbourne, RAF Wyton, RAF Waterbeach and RAF Castle Combe. Aircraft flown were Magister, Master, Oxford, Wellington, Anson, Stirling, Tiger Moth, Heinkel 111 and Lancaster. He flew a total of 22 operations, 2 daylight and 15 night operations with 15 Squadron and 5 night operations with 1651 Conversion Unit. Targets were Lille, Frankfurt, Arques, La Rochelle, Berlin, Mannheim, Stettin, Nuremberg, Brest, Pilsen, Kiel, Dusseldorf, Emdem, Hamburg, Cologne, Cape de Antifer and Bremen. He flew as a second pilot on operations with Pilot Officer Jones. The log book also contains photos of aircraft, crews and sketches.



One booklet


This content is available under a CC BY-NC 4.0 International license (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0). It has been published ‘as is’ and may contain inaccuracies or culturally inappropriate references that do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the University of Lincoln or the International Bomber Command Centre. For more information, visit and






Great Britain. Royal Air Force, “George Alexander Mackie’s pilots flying log book. One,” IBCC Digital Archive, accessed April 14, 2024,

Item Relations

This item has no relations.