Letter from Ian Wynn to his wife

EWynnIAWynnK420331-0001.jpg
EWynnIAWynnK420331-0002.jpg
EWynnIAWynnK420331-0003.jpg
EWynnIAWynnK420331-0004.jpg

Title

Letter from Ian Wynn to his wife

Description

Describes life at RAF Cranwell which is not as good as RAF Kenley. Writes he is running out of tobacco and requests her help. He has applied for leave but has not had confirmation. He discusses other opportunities to meet. Talks of possible move of unit to Carlisle.

Creator

Publisher

IBCC Digital Archive

Date

1942-03-31

Rights

This content is available under a CC BY-NC 4.0 International license (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0). It has been published ‘as is’ and may contain inaccuracies or culturally inappropriate references that do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the University of Lincoln or the International Bomber Command Centre. For more information, visit https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/ and https://ibccdigitalarchive.lincoln.ac.uk/omeka/legal.

Format

Four page handwritten letter

Language

Identifier

EWynnIAWynnK420331

Temporal Coverage

Transcription

Hut 39
No 3. C.O. TU
West Camp
Cranwell
Lincs
[underlined] 31st March 1942. [/underlined]

Darling,
Many Thanks for your letter to hand this morning. I t seems ages since I heard from you last. I have not yet received any mail from Kenly yet. I also had a letter from Dad by the same post.
I am enjoying the work at this station alright but the food is not too good. Furthermore the comforts of Kenly rather spoiled me for the more primitive life here but never the less I am enjoying the change. There is heaps of entertainment organised
[page break]
here, if one has the money to go. However this last two nights I have been working late. Having moved northwards the tobacco problem has become acute once more. I am alright for a couple of days as I forsaw [sic] the state of affairs & procured 3 ounzes [sic] in London, but henceforth your kind assistance will be very welcome.
It is a pleasure to here [sic] that the furniture is on the move at last. As soon as you get it I can do with my bathers I dont [sic] know where the ones got to that I had at Newquay.
[corrected] I have [/corrected] applied for leave commencing 11th of April I dont [sic] know whether Ill [sic] get it or not yet so dont [sic] bank on it. I should know something deffinate [sic] next week, when I will let you know. I think I shall spend it
[page break]
at Grt [Great] Wyrley this time. With regards to the long weekends, I think I can get to Delarne[indecipherable] alright if I can get away from here early enough but it will be a matter of £.5. D mainly
What do you think? The whole unit is expected to move to Carlisle in May! That would be accessable [sic] to Norley but it is a lousy climate up there. Still there might be a good few plane trips to Sealand [sic] from there which would be a good lift on my way to Norley at weekend. I haven’t found out how far west they fly from here yet but I should think I could get a good lift anyway to Ringway would be a help!
[page break]
Well my dear that is about all for tonight except of course to tell you I love you & I am missing you awfully still.
All my love to all.
yours Always
[underlined] Ian [/underlined]

Collection

Citation

Ian Archer Wynn, “Letter from Ian Wynn to his wife,” IBCC Digital Archive, accessed August 3, 2020, https://ibccdigitalarchive.lincoln.ac.uk/omeka/collections/document/11686.

Item Relations

This item has no relations.

Can you help improve this description?