J Oates’ observer’s and air gunner’s flying log book



J Oates’ observer’s and air gunner’s flying log book


Observer’s and air gunner’s flying log book for J Oates, navigator, covering the period from 11 February 1943 to 19 June 1946. Detailing his flying training, operations flown and instructor duties. He was stationed at RAF Millom, RAF Chipping Warden, RAF Stradishall, RAF Witchford, RAF Leicester East, RAF Tarrant Rushton, RAF Keevil, RAF Weathersfield, RAF Sleap, RAF Tilstock and RAF Linton-on-Ouse. Aircraft flown in were Tiger Moth, Anson, Wellington, Stirling, Oxford, Harrow, Whitley and Halifax. He flew a total of 24 operations with 196 squadron. The operations were paratrooper drops and glider towing including operation Tonga and Mallard on D-Day and operation Market Garden. All other operations were detailed as briefed. His pilots on operations were Flight Sergeant Lyons and Warrant Officer Oliver.



One booklet


This content is available under a CC BY-NC 4.0 International license (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0). It has been published ‘as is’ and may contain inaccuracies or culturally inappropriate references that do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the University of Lincoln or the International Bomber Command Centre. For more information, visit https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/ and https://ibccdigitalarchive.lincoln.ac.uk/omeka/legal.






Great Britain. Royal Air Force, “J Oates’ observer’s and air gunner’s flying log book,” IBCC Digital Archive, accessed June 12, 2024, https://ibccdigitalarchive.lincoln.ac.uk/omeka/collections/document/37982.

Item Relations

This item has no relations.