L Hadfield's observer's and air gunner's flying log book



L Hadfield's observer's and air gunner's flying log book


Observer’s and air gunner’s flying log book for L Hadfield, wireless operator/air gunner, covering the period from 14 March 1941 to 6 May 1945. Detailing his flying training, operations flown and instructor duties. He was stationed at RAF Yatesbury, RAF Prestwick, RAF Pembrey, RAF Thornaby, RAF North Coates, RAF Thorney Island, RAF St Eval, RAF Chivenor, RAF Aldergrove, RAF ReykJavik. RAF Ballykelly and RAF Nassau. Aircraft flown in were Dominie, Proctor, Botha, Blenheim, Anson, Hudson, Liberator, Fortress, Commando and Dakota. He flew 40 operations with 59 Squadron comprising of anti-submarine patrol and convoy escort duties. His pilot on operations was Flight Lieutenant Moran.

Temporal Coverage



One booklet

Conforms To


This content is available under a CC BY-NC 4.0 International license (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0). It has been published ‘as is’ and may contain inaccuracies or culturally inappropriate references that do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the University of Lincoln or the International Bomber Command Centre. For more information, visit https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/ and https://ibccdigitalarchive.lincoln.ac.uk/omeka/legal.






Great Britain. Royal Air Force, “L Hadfield's observer's and air gunner's flying log book,” IBCC Digital Archive, accessed April 14, 2024, https://ibccdigitalarchive.lincoln.ac.uk/omeka/collections/document/38035.

Item Relations

This item has no relations.