Stan Hawes' Log Book



Stan Hawes' Log Book


Observer's and Air Gunner's Flying log book for Stanley Hawes, wireless operator. Covers the period from 18 May 1943 to 16 June 1944, when he was killed. It details his training and operations. He was based at RAF Yatesbury, RAF Mona, RAF Cottesmore, RAF Wigsley, RAF Skellingthorpe and RAF Fiskerton. Aircraft flown were Dominie, Proctor, Botha, Wellington, Halifax and Lancaster. After a brief spell in 50 Squadron he moved to 49 Squadron and flew 12 night operations. Targets were Hannover, Hagen, Berlin, Stettin, Stuttgart, Frankfurt, Aachen and Beauvoir. His pilots on operations were Wing Commander Adams, Pilot Officer Barnes, Flight Lieutenant Tancred, Squadron Leader Miller, Pilot Officer J Jones and Pilot Officer Shinn. His log book is stampled 'death presumed' over the last entry.



One booklet


This content is available under a CC BY-NC 4.0 International license (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0). It has been published ‘as is’ and may contain inaccuracies or culturally inappropriate references that do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the University of Lincoln or the International Bomber Command Centre. For more information, visit and





Great Britain. Royal Air Force, “Stan Hawes' Log Book,” IBCC Digital Archive, accessed June 19, 2024,

Item Relations

This item has no relations.