12 Squadron [entry point]


12 Squadron [entry point]


See all Archive items | See all wartime losses

In September 1939, 12 Squadron was part of the Advanced Air Striking Force in France equipped with Battles. It returned to Britain in June 1940 at RAF Finningley in 1 Group. From June to September 1940 the squadron had spells at RAF Binbrook, RAF Thorney Island and RAF Eastchurch before returning to RAF Binbrook from September 1940 to September 1942. It converted to Wellingtons in October 1940. From September 1942 to the end of the war the squadron was at RAF Wickenby having converted to Lancasters in November 1942. At the end of the war the squadron took part in Operation Manna, dropping food to the Dutch as well as Operation Exodus, repatriating ex-prisoners of war.


Artwork                            Text
Map                                Text. Correspondence
Map. Navigation chart and log      Text. Diary
Moving image                       Text. Log book and record book
Photograph                         Text. Memoir
Physical object                    Text. Personal research
Physical object. Clothing          Text. Poetry
Physical object. Decoration        Text. Service material
Sound                              Text. Training material
Technical aid

Item type refinement is covered in the FAQ section, questions 12 and 13. The Archive also comes with a range of tools for searching and browsing content: please see the help page.


“12 Squadron [entry point],” IBCC Digital Archive, accessed July 23, 2024, https://ibccdigitalarchive.lincoln.ac.uk/omeka/collections/document/6253.

Item Relations

This item has no relations.