RAF Stormy Down [entry point]
RAF Stormy Down (also known as Newton Down) was located in South Wales, 4 miles (6 kms) west of Bridgend.
See all Archive items | Explore nearby
It opened in June 1939 and named as RAF Newton Down but in October 1940 it became RAF Stormy Down. It was used as a training station with 7 Air Gunnery School with Whitleys, Battles, Ansons, Defiants and Lysanders. In November 1943, a cine-gun flight was formed with Martinets. The station was closed from February to August 1944 for reinforcing the runways. The station closed in 1946.
Item type refinement is covered in the FAQ section, questions 12 and 13. The Archive also comes with a range of tools for searching and browsing content: please see the help page.
Map Text. Correspondence
Map. Navigation chart and log Text. Diary
Moving image Text. Log book and record book
Photograph Text. Memoir
Physical object Text. Personal research
Physical object. Clothing Text. Poetry
Physical object. Decoration Text. Service material
Sound Text. Training material
This item has no relations.